My Profile  |  Contact Us  |  Member Portal

American Gem Society Logo

Prestigious Awards Presented in Austin

The 2024 Conclave celebrated outstanding contributions and service within the American Gem Society community through a series of awards.

At the Tuesday breakfast general session, Amanda Coleman-Phelps, CGA, Chair of the International Guilds Council, presented the first of three awards, the Sallie Morton Award. This year, the award was given to Jewelers Mutual Group in recognition of their enduring partnership and substantial support to AGS since 2008. “Jewelers Mutual Group exemplifies the pinnacle of support to AGS and its members,” said Coleman-Phelps. “As the sponsor of the Guilds, they have been pivotal in advocating for the continuous education of our members, often facilitating classes on vital topics such as business security.”

The 2024 Sallie Morton Award was presented to Jewelers Mutual Group. Krystle Craycraft (center), Senior Vice President of Marketing for Jewelers Mutual, holds the award.

Coleman-Phelps next presented the Guild of the Year Award to Andy Martin, CEO of Wishfluence and President of the Northwest Arkansas Guild. Coleman-Phelps praised Martin for his innovative and community-focused approach within the industry, stating, “Andy represents the epitome of innovation and community engagement within the jewelry industry.”

Coleman-Phelps also presented the John J. Kennedy Award, which honors outstanding service and support to the jewelry industry by law enforcement personnel. This year, Supervisory Special Agent Jeffrey Rolands received this recognition for his significant contributions to making the industry and AGS members safer.

Special Agent Jeffrey Rolands (left) received 2024 John J. Kennedy Award. He's pictured with Scott Guginsky.

At the annual Titleholders Luncheon on April 17, Kevin Mays, CGA, of John Mays Jewelers, received the Young Titleholder of the Year Award. Maria Brown, RJ, past Chair of the Young Titleholders committee, gave Mays the award and praised him for his exemplary work with the Young Titleholders committee, stating, “Kevin is dedicated, a visionary, and inspirational.”

The Black in Jewelry Coalition (BIJC) collaborated with the Young Titleholder’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee to award one BIJC member a Conclave registration. Ms. Brown announced the recipient of this scholarship, Valerie Madison.

Kevin Mays, CGA, 2024 Young Titleholder of the Year Award recipient, pictured with Maria Brown, RJ.
Valerie Madison, recipient of the 2024 Black in Jewelry Coalition (BIJC) grant.

Brown also recognized the Young Titleholders Conclave Scholarship recipients, which awards Conclave registrations. This year, the scholarships went to:

  • Daniel Abdallah, Maya Caroleena Jewelers
  • Lisa Bradshaw, John J. Bradshaw
  • Kimberly Ngarupe, Duke’s Jewelers
  • Leslie Rollins, Zachary’s Jewelers
  • David Rubenstein, Betz Jewelers
  • Torre Spellman, Skeie’s Jewelers
  • Tiana Yamaguchi, Vardy’s Jewelers

The American Gem Society is proud to acknowledge the achievements and dedication of all the Conclave honorees who continually strive for excellence and innovation within the jewelry industry.

AGS would like to acknowledge the Presenting Sponsor of Conclave, Jewelers Mutual® Group, and our Education Sponsor, GIA.