My Profile  |  Contact Us  |  Member Portal

American Gem Society Logo

Buying Diamonds with Confidence

If you want to learn more about how to buy a diamond, you’re in good company. We get many questions from jewelry shoppers about the characteristics of diamonds so that they can make a more informed purchase.

And that is why we are here. We are passionate about connecting shoppers with educated and ethical jewelers so they have peace of mind while shopping for that important purchase.

Understanding diamond quality is the first step to making a more informed jewelry purchase, and that starts with the 4Cs: Cut, Color, Clarity and Carat Weight. These standards make it easy to compare different diamonds and understand the quality of your diamond.

buying a diamond with confidence

Diamond Grading

Buying a diamond taps into your emotions. We see that sparkle and we ourselves start to feel the glow! Diamond grading reports provide information about the quality of the diamond to help you understand your purchase. Always ask your jeweler about the diamond grading report so you can judge all the inherent factors of the diamond. It is always a good idea to get an independent, third-party evaluation of your diamond to better help you understand the qualities of your diamond.

Find an AGS Jeweler or learn more about the AGS diamond grading system.