My Profile  |  Contact Us  |  Member Portal

American Gem Society Logo

April 24, 2024

John Carter Receives 2024 Robert M. Shipley Award®

John Carter, President of Jack Lewis Jewelers, has been awarded the Robert M. Shipley Award®, the most distinguished accolade from the American Gem Society (AGS). This honor was presented to Mr. Carter at the annual Robert M. Shipley Award® Luncheon at the AGS Conclave in Austin, Texas. “John Carter is the most deserving recipient of the Robert M. Shipley Award. He’s been a true bridge builder, furthering the purpose and ideas of the American Gem Society,” said Clayton Bromberg, CG, CEO of Underwood Jewelers in Jacksonville, Florida. Mr. Bromberg, a past Shipley recipient, presented this year’s award. Mr. Carter is

Read More »

Prestigious Awards Presented in Austin

The 2024 Conclave celebrated outstanding contributions and service within the American Gem Society community through a series of awards. At the Tuesday breakfast general session, Amanda Coleman-Phelps, CGA, Chair of the International Guilds Council, presented the first of three awards, the Sallie Morton Award. This year, the award was given to Jewelers Mutual Group in recognition of their enduring partnership and substantial support to AGS since 2008. “Jewelers Mutual Group exemplifies the pinnacle of support to AGS and its members,” said Coleman-Phelps. “As the sponsor of the Guilds, they have been pivotal in advocating for the continuous education of our

Read More »

Industry Leaders: AGS Elects New Board Members at Conclave 2024

At the American Gem Society’s (AGS) annual Membership Breakfast during Conclave on Wednesday, April 17, the membership confirmed the AGS International Board of Directors for 2024–2025. The 2024–2025 AGS International Board of Directors are: Executive Committee President Alexis Padis, CGA President-Elect Bryan Moeller, CGA Secretary Mitchell Clark, CG Sr. Advisor William Farmer, Jr. Treasurer; Chair: Finance, Audit & Legal Committee Sumit Dangi Committee Designations and Board Members Chair: Young Titleholders Committee Dave Bindra, RS Chair: Gemological Sciences Committee John Carter, CGA Chair: International Guilds Council Amanda Coleman-Phelps, CGA Chair: Education Committee Kevin Mays, CGA Chair: Membership Committee Sarah Person, CG

Read More »