My Profile  |  Contact Us  |  Member Portal

American Gem Society Logo

American Gem Society Awards Honorees During 2022 Conclave

Several prestigious awards were given during Conclave on April 27 at the Titleholder Luncheon.

Sarah Nanasi Russell, CG, past chair of the Young Titleholders Committee, gave out the 2022 Young Titleholder of the Year Award to Maria Brown, RJ, of Exclusively Diamonds.

“Maria has been a consistent and tireless contributor on the Young Titleholder Committee since she joined five years ago,” said Ms. Russell. “She has never missed an opportunity to volunteer for a task when we need extra help and her commitment to our everyday operations has been critical to our success.”

The Black in Jewelry Coalition (BIJC) collaborated with the Young Titleholder’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee to award one BIJC member a grant for Conclave. Ms. Russell announced the recipient of this grant, Latoya Boyd. The grant covered the cost of Conclave registration, lodging, and provided a $500 gift card from AGS towards travel expenses.

“The Young Titleholders are proud of this new scholarship and are grateful to the Black in Jewelry Coalition for helping them execute it in a timely and meaningful way,” said Ms. Russell. “We pushed the boundaries of our usual scholarship process and offerings to align with their continuing goal of ensuring a diverse and inclusive American Gem Society community.”

Additionally, Ms. Russell announced the recipients of the Young Titleholder’s Conclave Scholarship. This year, they awarded five individuals with this honor, which provided free registration to Conclave. The recipients were:

Annie Daniels: Duke’s Jewelers
Mollie Effler, CG: Wm. Effler Jewelers
Bryce Melius: Exclusively Diamonds
Taele Polamalu, RJ: Zachary’s Jewelers
Amy Root: Form To Feeling

Maria Brown, RJ, holds her Young Titleholder of the Year award, presented by Sarah Nanasi Russell, CG.
Latoya Boyd, recipient of the BIJC grant.

Marc Altman, CGA, past chair of the International Guilds Council, presented four awards.

This year, the Sallie Morton Award for 2020 and 2021 were both presented. The Sallie Morton Award for 2020 went to Harold Dupuy of Stuller, Inc., and Shelly Sergent of Somewhere In The Rainbow Collection received the 2021 honor.

“This award recognizes the contribution of individuals who have gone over and above in their service to the AGS Guilds each year. Our members were able to tap into Harold and Shelly’s abundant knowledge and both welcomed calls to address the specific needs of our Guildies,” said Mr. Altman.

The Guild of the Year Award for 2022 went to the Greater Cincinnati Guild. “This Guild, along with its president, has been a great supporter and has contributed to helping us develop the national program we have today,” said Mr. Altman.

Marc and the Greater Cincinnati Guilds’ president, Kara Huddleston, ICGA, were joined on stage by Marty Pearlmutter, RJ, of Lester Martin Jewelers. Marty is the president of the Keystone Guild, who won the award in 2021, but he was unable to attend.

The John J. Kennedy Award, given to outstanding law enforcement and security professionals who have served the jewelry industry, went to Joseph Metsopulos with the New York City Police Department’s Major Case Squad.

Laura Stanley, CGA Instructor, accepted the Sallie Morton Awards on behalf of Harold Dupuy and Shelly Sergent.
Marc Altman (right) presented the Guild of the Year award to Kara Huddleston, ICGA, (center) alongside Marty Pearlmutter, RJ (left).
Det. Joseph Metsopulos accepts the 2022 John J. Kennedy Award. He's joined by Marc Altman, CGA and Ronnie VanderLinden (right).
The next Conclave will be held May 1-3, 2023, in Louisville, KY. More details are coming soon!